June Member of the Month

Name: Victor Theriault

Occupation: Engineering manager at Applied Materials

Hometown: Salem, MA

How did you find out about CFCA? Chatting with crossfitters from different gyms at work. Brian Weed steered me to CFCA. So I went to a Saturday morning team class and was blown away by how crazy friendly everyone was and the level of energy in the gym I got hooked.

Favorite type of workout music: Well, I’m kinda partial to old time rock n’ roll And I definitely have a thing for Janis Joplin

Favorite movement/exercise while stuck at home: Since getting this rowing machine I’ve really gotten into the challenge. For me it’s a great whole body, low impact workout that I can make as easy or hard as I want. And I’m loving the Zoom classes!

How are you staying motivated? I’m in a perpetual state of age denial. I want to have plenty of years to be able to keep up with my granddaughter. And I want to be able to stay active and travel a lot when I retire in a couple of years.

How have you been keeping busy? Tell us about your hobbies! Well, I’m very fortunate to be able to go into the office every day so I get time out of the house. In my free time, I fly my plane when I can. Ride the motorcycle every chance I get. And since I discovered how much I enjoy rowing, I decided to start building a boat in my basement..

What do you miss most about CFCA? Everything! All of you coaches. All of the camaraderie. The laughs and jokes at the beginning of each workout followed by the grunts and groans during and then to the sighs of relief when it’s over. The equal measures of Ken’s trash talk and encouragement. And most of all the Friday morning post workout breakfasts at George’s.

Favorite at-home CFCA memory: I don’t have a specific memory. But my spirits get lifted every time I log on to a Zoom class and get to see all of the familiar faces. Next best thing to being there.